Outdoor/Landscape Photography

Best of…

Because I have been to so many National Parks over this trip, I’ve ended up making so many images that I really don’t know how to pare them down to a small portfolio.  But I figured I would try and make a Best of each park.  I figure I would start out in chronological order and pick either one or two of my favorites from each park.

Rocky Mountain National Park

This may come as a bit of a surprise because you really cannot tell its Rocky Mountain National Park unless I tell you.  This one really came out of my inability to get a sharp photograph, so I decided I would pan the camera to smooth out the moutain range and the glowing twilight clouds.

Arches National Park

Sunrise at Arches

This one came on my final morning in Moab and it may not show the Arches, but I feel it emphasizes the redness in the rocks.

Canyonlands National Park

Golden Crown

This one is one of my favorites of the trip, and its no surprise that it was the lone subject of one of my posts.  It goes into a deeper level than just providing a snapshot of the canyons.

Goblin Valley State Park

Goblins at Sunset

This one I really like because of the composition.  The petrified sand dunes lead your eyes to the odd goblin formations and the light is just stunning.

Capitol Reef National Park

Storm Clouds Coming

I really don’t think I did such a great job of capturing this park.  This scene really doesn’t show a significant part of the park but I just like the composition and the fact that I pre-visualized it the photo before arriving at the spot.

Zion National Park

This park was the most difficult to photograph because it was just raining the entire time.  It also makes it one of the most easy to choose a favorite because I only took a handful of usable shots the entire time I was there.

Court of the Patriarchs

This is not one of my most realistic images.  But I feel it exemplifies the emotion you feel when looking up at these imposing monoliths.  Also not the best editing job and I plan to re-work it when I get back to a usable computer.

Bryce Canyon National Park

Now this one is certainly most difficult because I have so many keepers from this park.  But if I had to pare it down to two images it would be these…

The Tree of Light

Thor's Hammer

It’s no surprise that both of these images feature Thor’s Hammer as it became a favorite subject of mine in the park.

Monument Valley Tribal Park

Monument Valley Sunset

This one is a no-brainer because it is really the only good images I created here due to a lack of time, yet it is still a well composed image with great light and balance.

San Juan National Forest

Golden Aspens

This one shows the most stunning feature of the San Juans…the golden aspens of autumn.  These are just a few of the millions of blazing aspens that I saw in the day that I was there.  Maybe not the cleanest of compositions, but stunning none the less.

Mesa Verde National Park

Kiva

This one is clean and simple, and really one of the few shots I took at this park.

White Sands National Monument

I really just love the balance of this composition and the colors are simple and really add to the feeling of purity.

Wave of Sand

 

Hopefully I did a good job of making images that exemplify the spirit of each park.  Please let me know what you think, whether you agree with my observations.

I am really looking forward to getting home and re-working my images and hopefully creating a portfolio of my trip.  I’d also like to see if any of my panoramas came out as stunning as the vistas that I witnessed.

2 responses

  1. alu

    nellson,

    what are you some sort of artist? these are KILLIN'”! KEEP IT UP.
    alu

    October 16, 2010 at 4:29 am

  2. alexander norelli

    The Photos look good. Can’t wait to see them all.

    October 17, 2010 at 5:24 am

Leave a Reply

